• Punjabi is spoken by approximately 111 million native-speakers worldwide.
• Punjabi is most commonly written using the Gurmukhi script.  The reading lessons in this course teach how to read the Gurmukhi alphabet.

• There are ten Punjabi dialects which are mostly mutually intelligible.  This course teaches the Eastern Punjabi dialect as spoken in India.

•          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •

Punjabi-Speaking Countries

About the Punjabi Language

• Punjabi is an Indo-Aryan language of the Indo-European language family.  It is the only tonal language in this family.

 Punjabi is the official language of the Indian state Punjab and an official language in Delhi.  In Pakistan it is spoken by the majority in the Punjab province.  It is also spoken in Bangladesh, Canada, Fiji, Kenya, Libya, Malaysia (Peninsular), Mauritius, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and the United States. In Canada, it is estimated to be the sixth most-frequently-spoken language.