About the Korean Language
Korean is the official language of both North and South Korea.  It’s also spoken widely in neighboring Yanbian, China. Some 72 million people speak Korean (42 million in South Korean and 20 million in North Korea).  Korean has several dialects, of which two are standard:  Seoul, spoken in South Korea, and P'yongyang, spoken in North Korea.  In addition, there are approximately seven regional dialects.  All dialects, except that spoken on the Jeju Island, are mutually intelligible. 

Pimsleur teaches the Seoul dialect of South Korea.

Korean is written in the Hangul alphabet, a phonetic alphabet created by King Sejong the Great in the 15th Century. It is characterized by syllable blocks containing two to four letters.  Hangul Day is a national commemorative day marking the creation of the alphabet.

Korean-Speaking Countries


•          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •