About the Irish Language

Irish and English are the official languages of Ireland. Irish is also called Irish Gaelic. The three major dialects of Irish are:
Connemara (spoken in the west of Ireland and centered
around the city of Galway),
Munster (spoken in Counties Kerry and Cork),
Ulster (spoken in County Donegal).

The dialects are mutually intelligible, and all three dialects are heard in Dublin, the capital of the Republic of Ireland. The Pimsleur course teaches the Munster dialect.

The government of Ireland is trying to revive Irish as the primary language of the country.  Irish is now taught in the schools, and there are now radio and television stations broadcasting in Irish.

Irish-Speaking Countries


•          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •