About the Dutch Language

Dutch is the official language of the Netherlands. Also called Netherlandish, Dutch is spoken by about 15 million inhabitants of the Netherlands and by about 300,000 people in The Western Hemisphere. Dutch is also one of the three official languages in Belgium, along with French and German.  The variant of Dutch spoken in Belgium is called Flemish (Vlaams) and is spoken by 5 million people.  Linguistically, Dutch and Flemish are 99% identical and they are mutually intelligible.

•          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •          •

Dutch-Speaking Countries